The Mancave

Let me tell you a little about Curtis and Kaeden. They are typical boys. They can usually be found in their friends Kevin and Jason’s basement, dubbed “The Mancave”. They drink too much mountain dew and drive too fast. And they are the best examples of true friendship I have ever seen.

To me, these boys seem inseparable. They would take bullets for each other. Once you enter the mancave, you’re blood. You only have to be with them minutes until you hear one of their inside jokes and see a friendship so intense you can feel it.

The bros

The bros: Jason, Curtis, Kaeden, and Kevin

A normal picture of the bros

A normal picture of the boys

Curtis and Kaeden on the roof of LPA

Curtis and Kaeden on the roof of LPA

Curtis has been my reason to laugh lately. His sense of humor is beautiful. It’s hard to find someone who can laugh so much, and never at the expense of others. But Curtis does just that. He is kind to a fault. He would do anything for any of his brothers, no matter what it cost him. My favorite thing about Curtis is how real he is. I’ve never met anyone quite as down to earth, trustworthy, and steady as Curtis. I’ve had very few friends as real as he is. And I’m so grateful to have him in my life.

Kaeden is deep. On the surface, you would see a broad shouldered semi-professional paintball player, shaggy hair, snapback cap on, driving a big Dodge truck, back window covered in stickers, with a Monster most likely in his hand. Kaeden and I have grown up side by side, but only recently have we become close friends. We shared the same first and second grade classes, and were in the same graduating class. Kaeden though, probably spent graduation day mountain biking instead of walking. Kaeden has always been around, and has always been incredibly intimidating. Most of my memories of him come from high school hockey games, especially the year he helped the team make it to nationals. I remember him smashing a lot of kids into walls. But now, my memories of him are much different. I see him standing at the pulpit giving his farewell talk, crying as he expressed his love for his family and the gospel. I remember little texts from him checking up on me after Kevin left. I remember a smile and a testimony that lit up every inch of every room he entered and arms that were ready and open to anyone who needed them.

It’s amazing that a kid who looked so hard from the outside, could provide the softest place for me to land in the aftermath of Kevin’s departure.

If I have learned one things from Kaeden, it would be to live deeply. Love deep. Work deep. Play deep. Pray deep. Live so hard that people notice. Be that light in the darkness. Go all out in everything you do. Full throttle. No regrets.

Love this boy

Love this boy

Soldier on Kaeden. With your attitude, there is no doubt you will change lives.

This is one of Kaeden’s favorite paintball videos, and he loved the song on it. Thus, “soldier on”.

HERE is a link to Kaeden’s semi-pro painball team’s website. He didn’t brag nearly enough about being on this team. SOOO sick. Under frontman players you’ll find Kaeden “K-Mac” McFarland.

Leave a comment